Baptism

This past sunday at journey I was given the amazing honor of baptizing my first person!!!  It was was such a blessing baptizing one of our college students, Joe Matthews, and a very dear friend.

Two fridays ago I was going through my first discipleship session with Joe when I got to the part where I asked him whether or not he had been baptized.  I was shocked when Joe told me that he had not been baptized since he had given his life to Christ when he was 16.  Joe, like many others, had said a prayer when he was very young and really didn’t understand what he was doing.  When Joe was in high-school he realized that he was lost and he gave his heart to Christ for the first time!!!

The Lord had been dealing with Joe for the past year about being baptized again but he had kinda procratinated getting in done.  I asked him if he would like to be baptized and he said he wanted to go right then and do it!!  It was just under 50 degrees outside but he didn’t care.  I called Jeff and he talked us into waiting till this past Sunday.

It was awesome seeing an outward sign of complete obedience.  I encourage you guys as well as myself to seek ways in our own lives where we can show our complete obedience to our Lord!!

I have posted a link to the video of Joe’s baptism.

2 thoughts on “Baptism

  1. Uncle Jeremy,

    Mommy and I just watched Joe’s baptism. We thought it was so cool! I kept pointing at you and saying, “ma, ma,” “ma,ma.” Mommy couldn’t figure out why, but I can’t say Uncle Jeremy yet and you and mommy kind of look alike, so I thought it would work. 🙂 I love you very much and can’t wait to see you again!

    Oh, and thank you for coming up and going with me to Trunk R Treat last Friday. It was fun to have you there!

    Love,

    Katelin

Leave a Reply

