Game Day!! Tigers vs Steelers

DSC_0299

Well after being in Krakow for one week and feeling fully recovered from camp and travel we came to our much anticipated game with the Zaglebie Steelers.  The Steelers came in as the heavy favorite much due to their recent success.  The Tigers had defeated them in a practice game earlier in the year but the Steelers had much improved since then.

But….

So did the Tigers!!  We traded scores on our first possessions and that would be the only time the Steelers would be close to scoring.  Our defense completely shut down their star receiver and their great quarterback.  It didn’t take long for me to find out that they were gunning for the American!!  I got knocked on my phanny by a blindside hit on a kickoff but recovered to make the tackle.  I played most the entire game at free safety and feel like I helped my team by making sure they never got the ball deep to their receivers.  I also got the chance to lay the “Wood”  to a couple of their guys too!!

I lobbied to get in the game at receiver on one play and for them to throw deep.  I promised I would go get it!!  Much to my delight they let me go in right before half time on one play and I ran as hard as I could to the end zone.  Filip the qb threw a perfect ball and I caught it for a touchdown to make the score 22-6 at the half.

The second half was a defensive battle with the only score coming from our great running back and my current house mate Meishko.  I tried hard to score on a punt return but I came up about 4 yards short!!

The Lord blessed us and the Steelers with no injuries and helped us all have great attitudes throughout the contest!!  We are the Division II South Champs!!

Next game will be Sep. 13 against the Lions.  Stay tuned!!

15 thoughts on “Game Day!! Tigers vs Steelers

  1. Congratulations to the Tigers! I wish I could watch you play football. I love you, Uncle Man! I hope you are having fun in Po-yand.

  2. Hey Jeremy, this is David C, friend and ss teacher of your dear ole dad, ha, I have known him a long time. We are praying that God opens doors in Poland and where ever you are my brother for those people to come to know His Son Jesus Christ. It is wonderful that Jerry is in remission for his leuk, what a blessing, we have followed his progress for over 2 years. Pray for my wife Marilyn also she recently diag withbreast cancer, doing very well, we are counting on a mighty God, Jehovah Rophe, the healer . He has never failed. Be in touch when you can, my email is : wdavidcarpenter@yahoo.com. Love in Christ, David

  3. Jeremy and I heard Michael on Drivetime sports last night- He called in to say that he had a friend from Krakow, Poland visiting and his friend was going to his first football game in the United States on Friday night! We thought that was so cool! Do you know the person that is visiting?

  4. So excited for the team and for your friendship with them! They are great guys, and although I only met a couple of them on our trip in July, I know you’re having a blast! I wear my Tigers cap and shirt around town proudly!
    .-= Jeff´s last blog ..Great Verizon commercial =-.

Leave a Reply

